Trips and Tracking Week 2

We are now two weeks into this and we are right where we want to be. Total car miles this week was 53.9 and a yearly total of 86.5. Bike miles…my legs say around 200. I kid! I did ride a lot this week. Had several across town trips in the same day even. Thursday is our big day. Probably did 20 or so miles. The other days averaged around 10 miles. Our trips took us all over Temecula. Don’t let anyone tell you that biking the suburbs is too hard. It’s not!

I’ve been wanting to start another bike train at Ysabel Barnett Elementary, so we headed over to check out their bike parking situation. I think we can do better than this!

On our way home we stopped by the new Freebirds World Burrito to check it out. Not gonna lie…was pretty bummed when I saw no bike parking. Did see quite a few bikes locked to various objects though.

It is shortsighted for a business to open without providing ample bike parking. I did send them a tweet and they are looking into it. I’ll update if they add a rack. Don’t hold your breath.

Speaking of racks. The City of Temecula added a nice rack at the site of the farmers market in Old Town Temecula. The farmers market uses the bus depot on Saturday and we now have a rack to use. I’ve been wanting a rack down there for quite a while. No better way to shop in old town than by bike.

I really enjoy commuting by bike. The thing that has surprised me the most is how engaging people when we are on our bikes. Everyone wants to talk or at the very least say hi. I have met so many great people since we have been biking and continue to meet great people.

On a non commuting note I rode the all club ride on Saturday morning. There was well over 125 riders. The ride is the second Saturday of each month and was started by Temecula Velo. Riders of all levels rode and it is a great way to get out and meet bikey peeps.

I hope you all have a great week.

Get on your bike!

Leave a Reply

